Our Board of Trustees

The Australian Cancer Research Foundation is governed by an honorary Board of Trustees consisting of 13 dedicated business people and philanthropists.

Founding Chairman
The Late Sir Peter Abeles AC

Former Holocaust survivor and “Australian of The Year’’ Sir Peter Abeles established the Australian Cancer Research Foundation in 1984. Read a more detailed biography here.

Founding Trustee
The Late Lady [Sonia] McMahon 

August 1, 1932 – April 2, 2010. A Founding Trustee and Life Member, Lady McMahon had a very significant impact on the Foundation and its mission to fund Australian cancer research projects at the forefront of medical science.

Founding Trustee
The Late Mr John Boettcher OAM 

September 3, 1931 – September 7, 2012. John was a Founding Trustee of ACRF. He was an unwavering enthusiast for our work, funding world-class research in Australia, and a significant part of our growth and achievements. John was much-loved, a great friend, and a highly respected member of the ACRF team.

Founding Trustee
The Late Sir Ian Turbott AO CMG CVO

HonDLitt, (UWS). ACRF Director since June 18, 1984. Chairman of the I T Graham Investments Pty Limited. Director of the Australian Youth Trust; Commonwealth Day Council and Ted Noffs Foundation. Emeritus Chancellor of the University of Western Sydney.

Mr Tom S Dery AO

BCom (Econ) (University of NSW); MBA (Stanford). ACRF Director since April 1, 1994, Chairman since 1999. Worldwide Chairman M & C Saatchi.  Director of Queenwood School for Girls. Former Director, Dean’s Advisory Council, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University of New South Wales; Former Chairman of Helloworld.

Mr Stephen R Rix

BEc, (USyd). CA, FAICD. ACRF Director since December 1, 2005. Chairman of Travelex Australasia Group. Director of Bennelong Funds Management Ltd and Allen & Unwin Pty Limited.

Mr Simon J Perrot

BSc, (UMelb). MBA, Australian Graduate School of Management. ACRF Director since December 6, 2000. Chairman of Poetry In Action. Director of Lend Lease Real Estate Investments and The Wayside Chapel, Sydney. Former Australian Chairman of CIMB Banking. Former Chairman of RBS and ABN AMRO Investment Banking.

Mr Greg J Camm 

MBA (University of Melbourne), BBus (Monash), CPA, SF Fin, MAICD. ACRF Director since December 6, 2000. Director of Bottlecyclers Pty Ltd, MECU Ltd and Yarra Valley Water.  Former Deputy Chair, iSelect Ltd.

Mr Russell R Caplan

FAICD, FAIM. ACRF Director since March 24, 2011. Chairman of the Melbourne and Olympic Parks Trust. Non-executive Director of Aurizon Holdings Limited. Director of St Kilda Football Club. Former Chairman of Orica Limited (resigned 31 December 2015).

Mr Timothy B I Crommelin 

B Comm (UQld), FSLE, FSIA, Advanced Management Program (University of Hawaii). ACRF Director since March 29, 2000. Executive Chairman of Morgans Financial Limited;  Chairman of Investment Advisory Board of the Australian National University; Member of the Senate for the University of Queensland; Chairman of AP Eagers Pty Ltd; Director of Senex Energy Limited.

Mr Stephen Gerlach AM 

ACRF Director since November 15, 1996. Chancellor of Flinders University, Adelaide. Chairman of Adelaide Capital Partners Pty Ltd and Gerlach Asset Development Pty Ltd. Member of AICD Corporate Governance Committee.  Former Chairman of Foodbank SA Inc. Former Director of Foodbank Australia Ltd.

Ms Jennifer Hewett

ACRF Director since September 20, 2012. National Affairs Columnist at the Australian Financial Review.

Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK AFC (Ret’d) 

ACRF Director since November 23, 2011. Chairman of Air Services Australia; Defence South Australia; Order of Australia Council; Canberra Symphony Orchestra; Queensland Mind and Neuroscience Institute Foundation; University of New South Wales Canberra Advisory Council; Corporate Advisory Council, Victorian Police. Director of the Lowy Institute for International Policy. Board Member of Greater Good. Member of the Executive Command Group, Victorian Police and the ANZAC Centenary Public Fund Board.

Mr Peter Jones

LLB, (University of Technology, Sydney). BSurv, (University of NSW). ACRF Director since June 2, 2005. Deputy General Counsel at the Reserve Bank Australia. Former General Counsel and Company Secretary of Tassal Group Limited.

Mr James M Millar AM 

B.Comm, (University of NSW), FCA, FAICD. ACRF Director since June 2, 2005. Chairman of The Smith Family; Forestry Corporation of New South Wales; Export Finance and Insurance Corporation (EFIC).  Director of Fairfax Media Limited; Helloworld Limited; Mirvac Limited and Vincent Fairfax Family Foundation Limited. Member of the University of NSW Australian School Business Advisory Council and the Grant Samuel Advisory Board.